St. Thomas Aquinas – Home Away From Home

As a new graduate student at Purdue University and the greater West Lafayette area, transitioning from a familiar area with friends and family to a completely new one can be a daunting task. An unavoidable hole is created when leaving people that you love behind for a new adventure…or so I’m told.

By the grace of God, that hole has been filled.Image

After first coming to the town, I began to investigate some of the religious groups on campus, focusing on St. Thomas Aquinas (St. Tom’s). As a baptized Catholic and a former practicing non-denominational Christian, I felt a bit of emptiness regarding my faith and worship. I never really felt “at home” in the churches I attended in the past and knew a big change was necessary in my faith. I approached people at St. Tom’s (Eileen, Emma, and Kristin) and was greeted with very open arms. After having discussions about my faith and my reason for becoming a confirmed Catholic, St Tom’s immediately took me in and introduced me to the RCIA process. Shortly after, my new faith journey began.

I am extremely blessed to have become part of the St. Tom’s family. I never imagined having this strong of a connection with a church community and it truly feels as if my faith has grown an incredible amount in the few weeks I have been involved with the St. Tom’s parish. The family-like atmosphere shared between the priests, student and non-student Catholics has been very inspirational and heart-warming. I am very much looking forward to developing my faith at St. Tom’s and sharing in this wonderful faith journey with others at the church. I now understand that a major reason I am attending Purdue is to worship our Lord and Savior in this blessed community at St. Tom’s.

Andrew Kustas

About boilercatholics

PCS (Purdue Catholic Students) is a student group that is made up of the Catholic students at Purdue University. Most of the activities of PCS take place at St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Center. There are several activities and groups that make up PCS which serve at a Spiritual and Social level. They include retreats, Bible studies, religious education, lectures, concerts, mission trips, intramural teams and much more! Sign up to receive updates from the groups you are interested in by clicking the "flockNote" link on the top right of boilercatholics.org View all posts by boilercatholics

Leave a comment